Of School Days and Blessings

Fall is here. Ah, I love it! The mornings are crisp, the sky is blue, the leaves are turning, the baby will be here soon… I’m sure you get the point. If only fall would last longer!! Hopefully this week we can clear out the flowerbeds (they grieved me all summer!!) and add some pumpkins and mums. Hopefully, that will improve the looks around here some what.Β  πŸ™‚

This morning we start our 5th week of school. wow! That is hard to believe. It’s going good. Really. I am more in love with and passionate about homeschooling our children at home now, then I was 5 weeks ago! There have been tears, yes. The rugs and bathrooms have been dirty. But that’s the way it is with anyone’s life. I have chosen the word flexible as my word for the school year. with a 1st grader, a Kindergartener, a toddler, and soon a baby, I have decided to try to just ‘go with the flow’ and live with what happens and comes along. )And, in case you were wondering, I no longer answer the phone in the morning. My apologies to any inconvenience this has already or will cause you in the future.Β  :))Β  I’m praying that God would show me what is most important to His heart, for me, in this stage of my life. (Did that sentence just make sense?) I want to focus on that and leave the rest.

We have no school room. We do school at the kitchen table. That has it’s pros and cons. It is really nice that I can load the dishwasher, change the washer/dryer, or start lunch and I’m only a few steps away from the children.Β  The con is that with a small house, at times I feel like we have a school ‘house’. Meaning that school things are ‘all over’. Here’s what I mean.Β  πŸ™‚

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

We do our books at the kitchen table, everything gets stored on the shelf in Kyler’s closet, if we need a chalk board, we move into Kyler’s room, and the white eraser board, charts and gumball machine are in the hall way. Our gum ball machine works slightly different then most.Β  πŸ™‚ Instead of taking gumballs out, we put them ‘in’.Β  πŸ™‚ We are doing the ABC Bible verses for our Bible Memory. The children think it’s such fun to add a new gumball every Monday morning.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Image

And we do art projects and crafts.Β  πŸ™‚ Beware of allowing a 2 yr old to paint and use glitter! We are still areΒ  still glittering several weeks later! And painting sun catchers. Smile. It was messy indeed, but they loved it. Gluing Beans onto construction paper is something they love! If they need something quiet to do, we get out the beans and glue.Β  πŸ™‚ Cheap Walmart beans are great for this! Mya needs some help, and she must have something handy, with which to wipe the glue off her fingers.Β  πŸ™‚

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

These are a few more sights that fill our days.Β  πŸ™‚ Playdough, Go Fish, Legos, turkeys,the sandbox and the Kitty, (She is spoiled rotten!!) are wonderful entertainers!Β  πŸ™‚ And Miss Mya the pirate… She is just so silly!!

ImageImage

Aubrey and Kyler are so very intrigued with inch worms right now! They name every worm that they find ‘Inchy’.Β  πŸ™‚ I hope no worm has an identity crises when he finds multiple other worms with the same name!

Image

Mya picked flowers for me.Β  πŸ™‚

ImageImageImage

Fresh potatoes, wild grapes and green plums, and tomatoes… yummy!!

Image

Candles and a Trim Healthy Mama Chocomocha… It’s the perfect addition to any day!Β Β  πŸ™‚

“1. God is our refuge and strength, an ever- present help in trouble. 2. Therefore, we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, 3. though it’s waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. 10. Be still and know that I am God, I will be exalted among the nations, I will exalted in the earth.”Β  Psalm 46: 1,2,3,10

I’m prone to being fearful and lately I find myself fearing many different things. I read these verses this morning and they blessed me. God is in control.

Have a blessed day!

2 thoughts on “Of School Days and Blessings

  1. I loved this post!!:) The kids doing school is just darling!!;) Aubrey’s slicked back hair made me laugh!;) who knows how i will comb my poor kids some day!;) Ha! I love how the kids do their arithmetic!:) And they did an amazing job on the sun catchers and art things!:) Mya’s features are SO Dorcas!!;) so funny I think!:) I love the picture of Fuzzy on the bed!;) She has a hysterical tail!;) I love Kyler building Legos!:) Smart kid!;) Funny children with their inch worms!:) And your candle and Chocomocha look just lovely!:) I so can’t wait to come after Thanksgiving!!!:):) That will be just so fun!:) And as an added bonus, I eat more healthy at your house then I do at mine!;) Haha!;) I Love you all just so much!!:) Large hugs!!:) β™₯ George

Leave a Reply

