Of Yummy Food…

I love food. I love making it and eating it.  🙂 And right now I’m in love with Trim Healthy Mama. If you’ve never read the book, you should. You will never look at food the same way again. Seriously! Yesterday I had the most amazing milkshake for lunch!! I was to busy to sit down and eat. So I threw some ingredients into the blender and I ended up with a creamy tasting milk shake. It was so good!!! I don’t have time to do a review of the book. But basically you can eat any food you want to, except for white potatoes, sugar and white flour. And don’t eat your fats and carbs at the same time. I also love it, because I can eat the same thing my family eats. I don’t have to sit there and eat some blah food while they have some tasty treat.

Anyway… I struggle with E meals. I’m determined to come up with some good meals that we all like. Here are a few of our favorites. (Yep, it’s an E day at this house. )IMG_0816

Banana Pancake Muffins   E

1 3/4 c. oat flour         2 tsp. xanthan gum          1/2 tsp baking soda        1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt                      2 T. erythritol, opt.           1/3 c. egg whites             1 1/2 c. almond milk

1 1/2 tsp. vinegar         2 T. butter, melted and cooled           2 ripe bananas

Mix all together in a food processor or blender. Pour into muffin tins. Bake at 375 for around 20 min.  Makes 12 to 16 muffins.

**We eat them warm with greek yogurt and Slim Belly Jelly.  (THM book.) I’ve also replaced the bananas with 3/4 c. applesauce. It gives it a different flavor and we like it just as well. The batter is thick, so You can also fry these into pancakes, if you’d rather.

** This recipe was inspired by one in the Gluten Free on a Shoestring Cookbook. I revised it to be THM friendly.

IMG_0741

Corn and Turkey Chowder   E

3 c. fat free chicken broth         1- 16 oz pkg frozen cauliflower        4 garlic cloves         1/2 onion, chopped

Bring to a boil and cook until veggies are soft. Let cool a little and pour into blender. Puree in blender until smooth.  Return to kettle.

Add:  3 c. frozen sweet corn, thawed       3-4 c. cooked, diced turkey or chicken breast

Season to taste. Heat through. Add 1 c. greek yogurt. Yummy!!!

**I don’t think this is the prettiest soup around. It looks plain and not very exciting at all. But it is very tasty and our children love it!

** And the corn… I wasn’t sure if corn was really on plan. However, I have a fair amount of sweet corn in my freezer and I noticed in the book, in the E chapter, it says any veggies, except white potatoes. So, I decided to use it. This recipe makes a 4 qt. kettle full and the carb count is 12 grams per cup.

And Cookies!! I was so excited to find a recipe for cookies that fit under the E guidelines!! I got the recipe off of Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog, but changed it some to fit THM.

Oatmeal Cookies   E

3 c. oatmeal       1 t. baking soda      1/2 t. salt     1 tsp cinnamon     3/4 c. erythritol       3/4 tsp black strap molasses    4 T. melted butter      1/2 c. almond milk

Dump everything into food processor and mix. If the dough is to dry, just add another T. of almond milk. Form into balls and bake at 375 for 6-7 min. To make sure you don’t end up with an insulin spike, enjoy with a protein smoothie or greek yogurt.  🙂 I love them! They make a wonderful afternoon snack!!

Hope you enjoy these recipes!!

Leave a Reply

