It’s February. Part of me wants to say, “Already?! Where has the winter gone?!” And another part of me wants to yell, “YAY!! We are getting closer to Spring!!” The little people and I are all ready for some warmth, flip flops, and park days! Oh yes! I love snow. And there’s something so cozy about winter. But this year. Oh, I am SO ready for Spring!!

IMG_0908 IMG_0916 IMG_0918 IMG_0923ย IMG_1039 The bathroom project that’s been going on. Wes tore it out one day when the weather was to bad to work. It has turned out to be a bigger project then he first thought. But it will be so nice once it’s done!

IMG_0993 IMG_0997 IMG_0999 The day before Valentines was supposed to be a good day. I planned fun projects for the kids to do and since Aubrey only had several tests to do that day, I thought it would work out quite well. I was excited for Thursday and I thought I had planned well…. First we made ‘button hearts’.

IMG_1000 IMG_1001And then I let them finger paint. Somewhere along the line, things began to unravel and my happy day was not proceeding as planned. Kyler declared it the worst day EVER and at one point, I was tempted to agree with him.

IMG_1020Our simple decorations. And no, that isn’t my handwriting on the chalkboard. It’s a printable that I found on pinterest. ย  I was going to put a nice white table cloth on the table, but in my frenzy, I couldn’t find it. So. There was no table cloth. That made me feel sad, because an oak table against a gray wall doesn’t exactly look festive.

IMG_1016 IMG_1018 we had our Valentines Supper that evening. We had hotdogs, chip dip, deviled eggs, ceaser salad, pepper poppers, and Strawberry parfaits for desert. The parfaits looked so pretty in my mind, but in reality, they looked a little sad. The children thought it was great fun to eat with pretty dishes and drink sparkling grape juice out of goblets. So, in the end, perhaps it wasn’t the worst day ever.

IMG_1069 IMG_1047 IMG_1045 IMG_1044 Miss Mya is now three.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ Aubrey was rather frustrated with her yesterday and said, “Mom! Mya still talks like she did when she was 2! She’s three now!!” After playing outside, the poor birthday girl fell asleep on the recliner. This Mama didn’t plan ahead very well, and forgot to buy wrapping paper. So we wrapped her present up in some brown, crinkled up paper, that we tried to flatten and smooth out as we went. Oh, and I might add, that there was also no scotch tape in the house. I thought her present looked sad. Aubrey and Kyler tried to dress it up with pictures and hearts. She awoke from her nap in a very bad mood and cried clear through her birthday supper.

IMG_1050 IMG_1049 IMG_1052 IMG_1062 IMG_1063 The smiles returned, however, when she got her present. She even sang “Happy Birthday’ to herself 3 times.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1070 IMG_1071 IMG_1076 The cake and homemade ice cream was healthy… so we ate it for breakfast the next morning as well.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ The children thought they needed candles at breakfast, too, so everybody got candles and we sang ‘Happy Birthday’ 3 more times.

IMG_0926 IMG_0968 IMG_1080 IMG_0879 IMG_0875 IMG_1040Lots of real life goes on around here. Aubrey has totally taken off with reading. She reads books and signs in stores. She writes Wes and Iย  little notes and hides them for us to find.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ Math is a total different story. Even simple addition is hard for her. But, we’ll keep working at it and reviewing what she knows. Next year we will try Math-u-see and hopefully that will go better.

Life in general is just so much better, since I quit drinking coffee. Sigh. I miss it so bad!! But, a happy baby is worth it! I used to make myself coffee every morning. I loved my little coffee/quiet time every morning. My poor baby, however, screamed and screamed and suffered from severe stomach aches. I would feed him and think he’s sleeping, lay him down and run to get something done. Only to have him wake up 5 to 10 minutes later screaming. School time was a disaster. Aubrey needed help and Coleson screamed. The other two children literally ‘fell through the cracks’ and ended up watching far to many movies.ย  The house was always messy and dirty and one night I told Wes that I feel like I’m losing my mind. Usually, around 3:30 or 4 in the afternoon, he seemed ok, actually took a decent nap, and smiled at his Daddy in the evening. I began to pray fervently. The tears-running-down-your-cheeks sorts of prayers. I knew there had to be a way to survive and thrive in this stage of my life. But, I had no clue how. It was just all very overwhelming. But, God is faithful. I shouldn’t be, but I am amazed how when I became so desperate and had no clue how to keep on, He brought ideas to my mind. I quit coffee and most chocolate and Coleson’s screaming stopped. He now takes a nice nap most mornings and we are able to do school much easier. We made chore charts for Aubrey and Kyler and Mom has a work schedule as well. And food in the freezer. That is a life saver!!! I now feel like I can function properly. The house is less chaotic, and that alone makes me feel happy.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1084 IMG_1083 IMG_1010 IMG_0979 IMG_0991 IMG_0972 My happy Baby. He now rolls all over the floor and gets himself into pickles.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ I love him.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

Must run…

 

 

3 thoughts on “

  1. Oh Sara, I love it all!:) Your kids are so Adorable and hysterical!;) And I just love them all So much!:) And Coleson is getting So big! He really is quite adorable!;) The very last picture cracks me up!;) Its so awkward!;) A very Large hug!:) โ™ฅGeorge

Leave a Reply

