The Craziest Summer Ever

Where has it gone? I want it back! For another month, at least!

IMG_1518 - Copy IMG_1510 - Copy

All summer, I raced with time, from one thing to the next. Each month, we had at least one big event/trip. With all the little/other things that happen in the Summer, it felt crazy. I struggled to breathe deep and embrace. Some days I thought I would drown. And now, it’s over. I’m trying hard to choose to remember only the fun we had, (and we had A LOT of fun and made wonderful memories!!)and forget about the extreme loss of sleep and meltdowns.Β  πŸ™‚ So, here’s a small re-cap…

The last wk in May, our new kitchen and laundry room floor went in. I love it!

June 1st, we moved everything out of all bedrooms and living room, into the kitchen/bathrooms/laundry/basement. we are now walking on soft carpet. I have a love/hate relationship with it. It looks really nice. Our front door is also in the living room. As hard as I try, all kinds of stuff and dirty feet regularly walk in my front door. I can not just wipe up a spot. Would I put carpet in my living room again? That depends on several things, but, probably not, unless it was far away from the main door.

we moved back in on Tuesday, on wednesday, Aunt Dorcas came and by Friday, we were all packed up and headed in 2 different directions.Wes to Quebec, on a fishing trip with his work crew, and Dorcas, the kids and I, to Missouri, to spend 12 days with Grandma and the rest of the Aunts. It was fun.Β  πŸ™‚ That week, we consumed lots of coffee and talked wedding and wedding, until the bride-to-be firmly stated that she wished to discuss something else. So, we talked wedding some more.Β  πŸ˜‰Β  I also found myself knee deep in yards of gorgeous white lace fabric; Dorcas’ wedding dress. It was lovely. My baby was fussy, and cut his first 2 teeth that week as well.Β  πŸ™‚

IMG_1568 - Copy IMG_1578 - Copy IMG_1587 - Copy IMG_1599 - Copy IMG_1688 - Copy IMG_1689 - Copy IMG_1696 - Copy IMG_1697 - Copy IMG_1698 - Copy IMG_1709 - CopyΒ  Needless to say, we were all thrilled to see our favorite man walk in the door at Grandma’s house.Β Β  πŸ™‚

We came home, and the rest of the month consisted of camping and VBS and just life in general.

IMG_1818 - Copy IMG_1851 - Copy IMG_1873 - Copy IMG_1887 - Copy IMG_1895 - Copy IMG_1904 - Copy IMG_1906 - Copy IMG_1910 - Copy IMG_1917 - Copy IMG_1922 - Copy IMG_1925 - Copy IMG_1938 - Copy IMG_1958 - Copy

And then it was July. Our anniversary went by, nearly un-noticed. We will celebrate, sometime. We went to Iowa to celebrate my Grandma’s 80th birthday. I took one picture. IMG_1979 - Copy Miss Aubrey loved Cherokee, Annika’s little pony.

Our church house is under going a major remodeling project and so this Summer, we’ve only had services every other Sunday. There are advantages and dis advantages to that.Β  πŸ™‚ One Sunday we went to The Wilderness Center.

 

IMG_2001 - Copy IMG_2003 - Copy IMG_2010 IMG_2013 IMG_2017 IMG_2020 IMG_2027 IMG_2032

Another Sunday, we went to the beach.

IMG_2075 IMG_2076-001 IMG_2078 IMG_2080 IMG_2085 IMG_2088 IMG_2091 IMG_2097 IMG_2098

August came and I finished Dorcas’ dress and veil, Aubrey’s flower girl dress, a dress for Mya, and my bridesmaids dress. I struggled with mine. I may or may not have had to sew the 3rd dress, before it fit right. and it may have gotten finished less then 48 hrs before the wedding. I learned that God does care about bridesmaids dresses… I did 15 oz sweet corn and 2 bushels of green beans, with the help of my sweet in- laws and 2 1/4 bushels of peaches.

IMG_1983 - Copy IMG_1986 - Copy IMG_2062 IMG_2065 IMG_2069 IMG_2104 IMG_2117 IMG_2127 IMG_2157 IMG_2175 IMG_2189 IMG_2199

And then came the wedding. It was gorgeous! One of those weddings that made me want to just sigh happily when it was over. It was a celebration of the goodness and love of God.Β  we are so very happy for Dorcas and Jacob!!

IMG_2143Β Β  IMG_2144

Somehow, having pretty hair and gorgeous flowers, smiling people everywhere, beautiful music, well, it can give one almost a Princess-y feeling. However, as soon as the ceremony was over, I was greeted by a sobbing 3 yr old. I held my baby on my lap for the reception. He rubbed greasy and chocolate cake-y fingers all over me. I returned to reality. I am a Mother, after all.Β  πŸ™‚

We have started school.Β  πŸ™‚ The first day went well, the second day went well, the 3rd day I cried. By the end of the 1st week, it was very apparent that the reading/phonics program that had worked so well for Aubrey, was not working, at all, for Kyler. Their learning styles are about as different as day and night. That is a blessing of homeschooling.Β  πŸ™‚ If one thing doesn’t work, you are free to try something else.

IMG_2192 IMG_2194 IMG_2198 IMG_2217 IMG_2200

 

We spent a gorgeous Sunday evening on the trail.Β  πŸ™‚

IMG_2233 IMG_2232 IMG_2229 IMG_2226 IMG_2221 IMG_2220

Yep, my life is crazy, and never boring.Β  πŸ™‚

This morning the sun is shining and it is crisp and chilly. Maybe, just maybe, I am ready for Fall after all. Perhaps we will find the time to celebrate the birthdays and anniversary that practically went by unnoticed this summer. Perhaps Wes and I can sit on the couch with warm lattes (after the kids are in bed, of course) and finish the sentences that we started last Spring. Perhaps our house will sell and we will get to move in the cold of winter, with 4 kids.Β  πŸ™‚

Hope your day is blessed.

~Sara

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Craziest Summer Ever

  1. Sara, what funny and crazy kids you have!! πŸ˜‰ I feel like Aubrey is trying to strengthen her abbes while doing school!;) I love you all, so!!:) I pray that you would feel God’s rest today, dear! Multiple Hugs!!;) β™₯George

  2. this was so good to read. I can totally feel your thoughts on summer. I felt the same way. Now we are settling into a routine of school and fall-ish activities and experiencing a bit of a slower pace, and I guess it’s all good after all. Even though i’m a bit wistful…i wonder what you are doing w/ Kyler for school. I have SUCH good memories of all our talks the weekend of the wedding. i feel like there is a lot i can learn from you. Have a great weekend, niece! love you.

Leave a Reply

